Welcome to the Rest of Your Life

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.”

– 2 Timothy 1:7

The research says it takes about 21 days to form a habit. I’ve officially started working with a trainer and he has challenged me to put it all on the line everyday for 21 days. My program will last longer than 21 days, that’s just the first challenge. Seems a little lofty, right? A little daunting, sure. But, I know that I have the abilities and the skills I need to truly transform my body, my mind, my spirit – I just have to do it. We’ve set some weight and inch goals, but the biggest goal is fighting off my eating disorder for good and reshaping twenty-one years of negativity, failure, and hating my body. I’ve stayed stagnant for so long. Each time I start to succeed, it seems I want to sabotage myself. Let me be clear — exercise is not the answer to beating an eating disorder. However, the mental challenges that I will face, and hopefully overcome, through exercise will give me the mental strength I need to finally be able to say no to Ed forever. Each day I plan to keep a basic food log and share my thoughts on how the day went. My biggest motto throughout this is “talk about it, be about it.” I have to start really living out my goals, not merely wishing for them in secret. I will no longer complain about not seeing results from the work I didn’t put in. This is probably going to be the hardest time of my life so far but I have a plan and a partner this time around. No more wishful thinking. No more giving up when times get tough. Today marks the start of the rest of my life. I am changing my mind, crushing my old habits, and am making health and fitness a habit instead. 2 Timothy 1:7 says that God has given us the power of a sound mind. I must take hold of the strength and self-discipline that God has given me so that I can conquer my mind. I want to break the chains that hold me back from reaching the true potential God has for me. Image 

Day 1:

  • Breakfast: Banana, Peanut Butter, Whole grain toast. Preworkout
  • Lunch: Turkey sandwich on whole grain with skim mozzarella and mustard. Carrots. 1 Deviled Egg. 2 cutie oranges. 
  • Dinner: Ham, potato casserole, asparagus, cucumber and tomato salad. 

Workout: Legs. Had some obstacles to overcome today! Of course that would happen on the very first day, right?! Ugh! I started to do squats and felt my knee really bothering me. It was the knee I had reconstructive ACL surgery on in high school so I thought I might just be sore. Nope. It continued to bother me no matter what I did. So, I called my trainer and he told me just to go ahead and do the elliptical. Later on in the day I did another 20 minutes on the elliptical. So in total today, instead of the leg workout I had planned, I ran a mile on the treadmill and did 50 minutes on the elliptical. I am so fortunate to have such an awesome guy to help me train! It’s a great feeling to trust that someone is going to be there every step of the way to help you reach your goals despite the pesky problems you might face. 

Leave a Reply

