eighteen

Day 18 is OVA. I planned to wakeup and workout before class but I didn’t. Instead, I spent some much needed time to rest since one of my classes was cancelled and I would have some more time in the afternoon. That decision led me to make some poor choices later on – I was not as goal oriented or productive as I would have liked to be today. I need to kick it up a notch and work harder!

MEALS:

  • Breakfast: Banana with pb. 3 eggs. A few green grapes. Coffee
  • Lunch: Celery, a generous amount of pb, raisins
  • Postworkout protein shake (with water, not milk) 
  • Snack: 3 cutie oranges
  • Dinner: Asparagus, Chicken, Brown Rice (with, I’m afraid to say, lots of butter). I had seconds!
  • Snack: Popcorn and 1 teeny little mini Snickers Bar

WORKOUT (See below)

wkout

My knee started hurting right on the last set of squats! Ugh! I was so frustrated. I used the 45 lb. bar, plus 50 lb. for two sets of 15. On the third set I dropped down to 40lb. I started to do the last set and felt my knee starting to hurt so I just stopped. I tried to move on to lunges but those didn’t feel good in my knee either. I went to one of the Bosu balls to see how it felt when I balanced and I found that I could do reverse lunges on the Bosu without pain. So, that’s what I substituted for the lunges listed in the workout.

Everything else was fine. I found it hard to go for the full 30 minutes on the elliptical. I kept getting tired and couldn’t keep up a strong tempo. It took me a little over an hour and a half to do everything. At the end of the workout, my legs were shot. I could barely get down the stairs! Whew!

My meals did not go as planned. I started eating poorly at dinner when I decided my tasteless brown rice needed a little butter. A little butter turned into a lot of butter! Also, I had a few handfuls of popcorn and a little tiny Snickers candy while we were watching a movie with friends. Instead of reaching for more though, I filled up my water bottle and added some dasani kiwi flavored water droplets. That satisfied my sweet tooth. I have GOT to wean myself off of SUGAR! Ugh! I am more upset about the little Snickers than I am about the popcorn. This also goes to point out the importance of staying disciplined. I had an opportunity to be more lax today and I swung farther than I needed to. I need to figure out a balance between total laziness and my typical totally driven 110mph trainwreck state. To be fair with myself, today wasn’t a total waste. However, this kind of mentality is what put me here in the first place. If I am going to beat Ed, I have to change it. I have to know that I must be disciplined in all areas. If I lose sleep, if I “miss out” on some tasty things along the way, so be it. I have to push harder. I have to give this 110%. I have to start TALKING about my transformation plans so that I have accountability outside of this blog and outside of Blake. If I’m talking to others about changing my body, then I can’t eat like a pig or they’ll think that I’m a hypocrite. Again, balance is key. I have to figure out how to enjoy the healthier things without thinking I’m “missing out.” That kind of mentality will not result in a lifestyle change. I’ll give up. Only in making some serious sacrifices will I change my mindset. And yet, I have to rejoice in those sacrifices so I don’t think I’m getting jipped. Again, I have to see the end goal before I grab that Snickers. I’m already thinking twice about eating something not so good for you, but I tend to say yes on the second thought. I think if I can just say no AGAIN, then I won’t give in. I have to work harder and sacrifice more, but I also have to figure out how to enjoy the work and the sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

